Pic-free Epiphany…

Early good morning to you! Wow, this is early for me even πŸ˜€ But, I wanted to get this out there before the daily routine got in the way.

I can’t do everything. I can’t do it all and I most definitely can’t do it all at the same time. For the past three months, I have been trying and it’s not working. If I open a box of cereal for breakfast or make a sandwich for dinner, I’m not a bad wife or a failure as a healthy person. If I take a week off, I’m not lazy or a fathead, I just need to rest.Β  And to constantly judge myself based on how much I cram into one day and how good I am at itΒ is toxic.

With that being said…I’m coming home afer work every night this week to have a nice dinner with my husband. I used to head straight over to the gym on foot and have him pick me up after my workout, but by the time I get home, shower and cook us dinner? I’m wiped. And then, I want to crawl in bed at 8:45 and I don’t get a moment to myself. I’m going to workout a little later and get in 2 hours with my family first.

I hear a lot of “put yourself first” and “get your ‘me’ time” when it comes to juggling a busy life. That doesn’t work for me. My family is me! I will feel content when I know that my husband is content and my dog hasn’t been alone all day. I’ll catch my breath and put my feet up and let HIM clean up the kitchen while I unwind. Then, after we share our days and I’m content and full of love, I’ll squeeze in my “me time”. Frazzled me time = low quality me time.

See you later with my day. It’s starting out good…this is a good sign so far πŸ˜‰

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pic-free Epiphany…

  1. I just stumbled on your blog through HLB. This simple, honest post spoke to me very deeply. I wanted to say – Do what makes you most happy. Laugh as much as possible. Be with who make you smile. All the other “grown up” things will find their place. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

