Wedded bliss…

And the weekend is finally here! There’s nothing I love more than sleeping till nine, chatting with the love of my life and then leisurely sipping coffee while the day heats up 🙂

This morning’s breakfast is kind of a disaster:

I ran out of veggies (it’s Friday) so I just scrambled 1 egg and 4 egg whites with mushrooms and black beans and sprinkled cheese and salsa on top. Add in that slice of millet bread and an unpictured quarter of a cantaloupe and I was set.

Today’s food landmine at work? Root beer float bar and brownies!! It sounds like I work for the circus, but I’m in the HR biz. Food is just in abundance at this place! I fought back with an almond and dark chocolate granola bar. That and I couldn’t even fathom a sugar crash. Something about office lighting lulls me to sleep; throw in a sugar crash and I’d be down for the count. Lunch was a killer:

This salad is so tasty yet so lethal at the same time. I eat it for the iron. I slightly modified this recipe out of a 2008 Oxygen magazine – for me and the husband I split a bag of spinach between two bowls and then between the two, I throw in a lb of lightly steamed fresh string beans, a rinsed can of kidney beans and a rinsed can of pinto beans. The dressing is 1 part lemon juice to 2 parts olive oil, dressed as much as you want, with cumin, red pepper and salt added in, again, adding to taste as you like it. I go crazy with the spices because I love me some heat. I’m going to let you know, I eat a LOT of fiber. Like, a crap ton of fiber, no joke. Fruits, veggies, beans and whole grains abound in this house. This salad pushed the boundaries of acceptable fiber. If you are going to try this, I suggest working up to that about of fiber and drinking a TON of water to keep things, ahem, moving. I also suggest not eating this at noon at work 😦

I was planning on a workout, but I have to say, I am tired today. This week we’ve gotten off schedule, I haven’t been to bed by 9:30pm at all (which is the usual snooze time), I worked out once, there was NO running…who AM I? So, I came home and took a nap. My body asked and I gave in. It was a baby nap while the Top Chef made pizza:

365 makes THE best frozen pizza. That is not an over-exaggeration. I love it. This is just pesto, tomatoes and goat cheese (which I may have put more goat cheese on). Simple and tasty. But, if you haven’t noticed, I haven’t had my daily servings of fruits or veggies…I did what any girl would do to remedy that:

YOGURTLAND! Oh yes, I did. I had one little squirt of Toasted Coconut yogurt, one little squirt of Chocolate Coconut Truffle yogurt, lots of fresh blueberries, strawberries and kiwi, a light dusting of shredded coconut and (if you can find it, like Where’s Waldo) 1 dice sized brownie and 1 dice sized cheesecake (I notice I don’t crave junk if I can have just one bite. And I’ve gotten great with ‘just one bites’). This thing was so amazing. The fruit was fresh and juicy and the coconut gave it a tropical taste…forget Yogurtland, more like Yogurtheaven (HAHA! I giggled while I typed that cheeseball).

Since we were in the neighborhood, we headed over to the monster-sized Safeway and picked up the new Oxygen magazine and some coffee. You read that correctly. At 9:00pm on a Friday night, we were at the grocery store, reading Time Life magazine and grabbing coffee. It that ain’t true wedded bliss, I don’t know what is 😉 I just like his company. And, just like the good date he is, he even rented me a dollar movie out of the kiosk (please don’t get me into the Blockbuster rant. I will go there and it isn’t pretty). Now, I’m going to finish this cup of chamomile and curl up in bed with my fur-baby and my new magazine.

Tomorrow should be fun, guys! Sweet dreams 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

