Easy like Sunday morning…

What a relaxing day this has been, ahhhh. I woke up this morning to find that a certain someone did the dishes and two loads of laundry while I was sleeping!!! And I woke up at 8am. What did I do to deserve someone so amazing…aside from cuddle the dog and talk in my sleep? Morning number 2 of an uneventful breakfast, but I blame it on this:

Yup, my cupboard is bare. More oaties. This time, I chopped up the last granola bar in it along with the protein powder and peanut butter. It wasn’t bad but enough was enough and I had to go grocery shopping. I give you…$72 worth of Hawaii grocery shopping!

I’m not kidding 😦 That’s the haul! And most of it was on sale!! I would complain, but I love quality food and I’m willing to vote with my dollars to support local and organic food. On a side note, I did have a giggle today while reading a comment on a news article in our paper. The individual said that we shouldn’t bring in any more organic places because the individuals who frequent those places tend to be angry about things beyond their control….um, what does that even mean?!? I’m a happy person who is anti-pesticide. Does that make me angry? Not in the least 😀

Back to the food! At this point, after dragging our butts out to Pearl City (I’d like to point out that it’s 15 minute drive. I, however, am on island time and hate going 15 minutes out of my way 🙂 ), I was famished. We chowed down on our first frozen Amy’s meal EVER.

Yep, I stuck my fork in before the picture. Not classy, but I was hungry. This would be the chili and cornbread meal. Amy? I salute you. This was NOT tasteless cardboard frozen food (I am in no way associated with Amy’s and they don’t pay me to say nice things. This meal was on sale. Typically, if there’s a review, it’s something on sale that I would never pay astronomical prices for). This was tasty, spicy in all the right ways and substantial enough to fill my tummy. Plus, the cornbread was killer.

Insert hours of reading Water for Elephants. Um, hello? So good. I am excited for the movie to come out but the husband shared, “Robert Pattinson will ruin it. He’s as boring as an animal cracker.” Sometimes, this man is spot on. The book totally makes up for the life I wasted reading Wicked. Just sayin’. I decided I should probably hit up the library before I spend the entire day reading my book. I picked up a new vegetarian cookbook (we’re trying a lot more meatless options now that cave-boy decided he doesn’t need a Flintstone steak at every meal, heh heh). And since we were in the neighborhood…I had to get juice.

Usually? I get the little guy, because I know how much sugar (albeit, good sugar) is in these smoothies. But, as luck would have it, they forgot our order during the rush. 20 minutes later, I strolled out with a HUGEmongous smoothie:

They bumped me up in size to make up for forgetting about me! Lanikai Juice, you have my heart. Not to mention, I got to use my reward dollars today and got a $3 dollar discount!! YAY! For you smoothie makers at home, this was PHEnomenal. I don’t know the proportions, but the Ginger Ono (Hawaii word alert: Ono=delicious) has ginger, lemon, apples, mango, papaya, soy milk, yogurt, honey and cinnamon. It’s spicy, that I’ll let you know right now, but you can mess around with proportions, right?

Back to the house for more reading. The sun was setting and the day was getting a lot less hot and it was SOOO relaxing. I didn’t even realize dinnertime was upon me! I rolled with Indian today. I usually do a simmer sauce, but Down to Earth had a sale two weeks ago on this stuff:

I usually don’t buy these because there’s a warning on the bag that states “do not use if leaking or bloated”. It creeps me out every time and then I spend my whole meal worried that I will quickly lapse into a botulism-coma. Same thing happened again this time, I’m not gonna lie. It was good though! I heated it up and ate it with naan bread sprayed down with this:

I LOVE this stuff. It’s so good. I spray the naan down with it, sprinkle on some garlic powder and then heat it in the oven until it’s crispy. Then, husband and I stuffed our faces. Since it’s so early, I think I’ll finish some grocery shopping, read some more (I’m going to go blind, I’m well aware) and hit the hay early, since I happen to have an all-day People Skills seminar tomorrow. I should probably squeeze in some yoga tonight to soothe my sore muscles; I learned today that deadlifts hurt your butt. Well, my butt, for sure 😉 I’ll see you tomorrow with the rest of the grocery haul (for the next three days only, mind you. I’ll have to go again on Wednesday) and I’ll show off my new and improved people skills. Good night!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Easy like Sunday morning…

  1. I’ve been eyeing that exact cocnut spray at the store, But didn’t want to pay the extra $$ for something I was unsure about. Glad to hear a positive review… it’s on my list for next time.

  2. That coconut oil has me intrigued! Not sure I’ve even seen it in the midwest stores, but now you’re going to have me looking for it!

Leave a Reply

