Eat your heart out, Ben & Jerry’s…

I was a woman on a mission this morning. I had an epiphany (that won’t be pic-free 🙂 ); I decided that I wanted breakfast,  many many breakfasts, that taste like different Ben & Jerry’s ice cream flavors. I give you…the Chunky Monkey-Shayna-style!

Oh my. I know. Recipe format?

Chunky Monkey Oaties

1 Serving cooked oat bran

1 TB carob chips

1/2 sliced banana

1 big scoop chunky pb

1 big scoop protein powder (I use Designer Whey)

And, if you’re feeling island-y, a sprinkle of coconut 😉 This was beyond words. Not exactly what I was shooting for, I may have to tweak this guy a bit. But definitely worth eating! Tomorrow? Cherry Garcia. Oh yeah!

Today’s snacks were outrageously flavorful. I had a plum today that rocked my world. I can tell you that a year ago next month:

we were not scarfing plums. Can I tell you how great it feels to not look and feel like that anymore!?! And the food I eat now…I can’t even tell you what I was eating back then. Jack in the Box? I don’t know. Wow, it really has made a difference, maybe not so much on the screen, but in my heart and my peace of mind? Type 2 Diabetes is an issue in both of our families. I see how it affects my loved ones and I want to keep us out of that danger zone. High blood pressure is another landmine. As proud as I am about all the knowledge I’ve picked up, I’m also way happier that I’m helping my husband be healthy too. I gotta watch out for my best friend; I need him around for a long time 🙂

So, that plum did rock my world, as did Garden of Eatin’s Holy (Wholey? I like holy) Guacamole chips…wow. I dunked ’em in this:

It was pretty much off the charts. I will definitely be purchasing more of both! I actually made it to the gym today, as well. Mainly, to deal with the fact that they haven’t charged me SINCE DAY 1. I could have been going free forever! But alas, my ethics kicked in and I had to pay 🙂 I did get a great workout in, though. I kicked it up a notch with the squats and jackknives (what may be my new favorite move EVER).

Dinner was delicious – I heated up some Indian food (Dal Bukhara?) in the microwave with some naan bread. There may have also been a small handful of pretzel M&Ms, but I can neither confirm nor deny it. Usually, now is the time that I’d settle in for the Jersey Shore, but it’s not happening tonight. I’m bummed but I’m so tired and I have to drag my lazy butt outta bed early to call a client and then get ready for Casual Day (my office does them to support the UCP which is an awesome charity. Look it up and learn about it at the very least, it’s totally not what I thought it was and really shed some light on cerebral palsy).

Be on the lookout, too, for changes on the blog! It’s been about 4 months since I started and now that I have a feel for things, I’m ready to shake things up a bit!

Good night everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Eat your heart out, Ben & Jerry’s…

  1. The changes you feel internally are what truly matter. Glad you are feeling so awesome.

    And that bowl of oat bran looks uh-maze-ing!

Leave a Reply

