Greasy spoon…

Hey friends, sorry I missed you yesterday! It was pretty hectic here. The husband picked up an extra day of work and our usually relaxing Saturday turned crazy 🙂 The Latin lover was out of the house at 5:30am to start his day and I woke up at 9:00am, so I figured I’d just wait for him to have breakfast…which was crap, because he came home at 10:30! By then, I was all kinds of evil, so we headed to Zippy’s to eat:

Zippy’s was name after the zip code. I kid you not. I rolled with my favorite – 2 eggs over medium, brown rice (they serve rice with everything here) and Portuguese sausage (which reminds me of my childhood. So. Good. Find it, eat it and embrace it). I proceeded to cover the eggs in hot sauce and the rice in shoyu and then eat the whole thing. Good thing I have low blood pressure.

This absolutely killed me :(, so we headed over to Starbucks and grabbed a soy Pumpkin Spice Latte to ease my indigestion. Then, it was back on the road for the husband. I rolled with him and finished reading The Daniel Fast (has anyone read/done this?). We cruised back to the casa for a snack:

I baked up a sweet potato and covered it in cinnamon and peanut butter. It was so worth the wait. I then promptly took a nap. Doing nothing all day knocks me out! And I was kind of confined to the house since I didn’t have use of the truck. I woke up and ate this:

An apple, some cheese and Mary’s crackers. Naps make me incredibly hungry and thirsty. I’d bargain even more so than a full 8-hour night. Weird. Then, I tried to tackle our side room (aka the junk room. It’s full of crap and it irritates me. More so because I’d like to move out of this place soon and I cannot take all of that stuff with us). I gave up and read blogs until the husband called to pick me up.

I’d like to say that I took time to put make-up on and flat iron my hair and look presentable for him, but I roll like this:

Unless we’re going somewhere fancy-pants, or out with actual people not just ourselves, I usually roll the way God made me. The boy has seen me like this for the past 3 years and has no problem with it and I think I’m cute just the way I am. Bonus points for the Rivers Cuomo glasses 🙂 We ended up eating at Z Pizza (I haven’t grocery shopped yet, I’m not on a mission to stuff myself with junk) and I threw down on this:

The Casablanca – artichokes, ricotta, mushrooms and cheese on a crispy flatbread-y type crust + an unpictured mixed green salad with balsamic. After we finished munching, we rolled over to the bookstore (aka my biggest weakness). I was on a mission to find Radical by David Platt and find it I did. I’ve been reading it ever since. The premise is basically that Christians today are trying to “suburbanize” Jesus and the gospel. Pretty thought-provoking stuff. My poor husband has had to listen to me on my soapbox all morning 🙂 You’d think he’d be used to it by now…

Today’s agenda? I’m getting together a “getting to know us” post for you guys, any questions you’d like answered? Just let me know. We also have a 1st birthday party to go to, I’d like to hit the gym and I need to cook lunch for tomorrow. See you later and enjoy your Sunday!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Greasy spoon…

  1. Yay for rocking the natural beauty! 😀

    And I seriously need a pumpkin latte. I might have to get one on Tuesday in honor of the official first day of fall.

    • Really, I don’t need make-up on at the gym. And if I’m eating somewhere, I usually leave with food on my face somewhere! No need to get all beautiful to end up at Blockbuster with cookie crumbs on my lips (this may or may not have happened).
      I have consumed my body weight in soy pumpkin lattes. It’s time to pump the brakes.

  2. Kat

    Heck yes for being a natural beauty! Sometimes I wonder if my hubby gets sick of coming home to the updo and sweats, but then he smiles and says I love you and I know he doesnt even notice 🙂

    • I think that’s one of the best parts of being married. I can be wearing yesterday’s sweats with eye crusties and crazy medusa hair and he just thinks I’m so cute (or, I’ve trained myself to believe this 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

