Welcome to the mundane…

Hi friends! Wow, today has been pretty mundane. I woke up a little more refreshed after getting some sleep but I really need some restorative R&R. Rumor has it that the husband will be picking up some extra work on Saturday so one member of this family *might* get a pedicure…and it ain’t Roberta 😀

Breakfast was some much needed oaties (just like usual – protein powder, sliced banana, carob chips and cinnamon). We did honor our anniversaries today when I got to work. At my company, once a month they put on a little party for everyone hired in that month. This month’s snack was yogurt, granola, blueberries and croissants (my mind tricks are working on others now, apparently, cuz this was right up my alley):

Blueberry yogurt with blueberries and flax granola. Yoplait = sadness in my heart. But, I was hungry.

And my co-worker at lunch told me not to take pictures for the blog because it was the same as yesterday and I’d bore my readers. Ha! I love it. Yes, I had bacon covered green beans with quinoa dumped all over it.

Dinner was more epic Subway:

…. On church Wednesdays, we always grab sandwiches. It’s easier, I don’t have to cook and we don’t run late. Problem solved, tradition incurred 🙂 This was a Sweet Onion Chicken Teriyaki, nix the SO sauce, add in Chipotle sauce and lots of veggies. Also? We split this footlong. I can just imagine your faces (this healthy blogger is going to chow down this whole ginormous sammy? No, no I am not.)

So, the Fat Loss Challenge began today. My goal is 7%, which I figure is manageable. There’s no timeframe in which to do it, just get there and maintain for 3 weeks. I was listening to everyone’s strategy and some people are hardcore. One person is counting all the carbs they eat…well, I hope that works for them. I don’t avoid any food groups 🙂 The only issue that’s coming up is a big dietary change for me for a short period of time. As I shared, I have some personal things going on and my diet will drastically change starting Friday. Think vegan, but with no sweeteners or leavening agents.

Due to this, I’m laying off the weights for the duration of the change. I know 😦 Tears fell from my eyes too. But, I want to be able to relax and not have to worry about correctly fueling my body when I’m going to be managing my diet so tightly. So, expect lots of yoga, running and couples boot camp (this is not corporate. Me and the lover go to the park and I wear a stopwatch and yell like drill sergeant and we workout together). I don’t want it to affect my challenge at all, but I’m much more focused on my physical and spiritual well-being than a silly challenge. Strategy?

  • Eat whole foods – you’d think this is, ya know, duh. But I’ve heard of people drinking water with citrus fruits to up their metabolism. I like vegetables and fruit. I love fresh local food, I love it. It tastes different than crappy out of season food.
  • Exercise moderately – I’m not going balls to the wall crazy. Why? Because I like to workout. I like running, the elliptical, Turbo Jam, weights, yoga. I enjoy it. I’m not going to force myself to repetitively do something I enjoy to the point of torture.
  • Relax – If I don’t relax, I want to lay around and eat crap. It’s what I was born to do. It’s a conscious decision to fuel myself.

So…that’s it 🙂

Now? Cooking up lunch for tomorrow, some more meal planning for the next three weeks and some more of my book. Tomorrow, I’m going to try to squueeeeeze in some cardio and do some grocery shopping. I’ll share my bounty with you 😀

Good night!

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Fat Loss Challenge

4 responses to “Welcome to the mundane…

  1. I’ve read a few other blogs lately with companies doing this same type of challenge. Sounds like you’re making good choices on how to get down 7%. Good luck 🙂

  2. I feel the same way about Yoplait 😉 Good luck with your Challenge! It sounds like you have a great plan to get there. I look forward to hearing about how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

