Another one bites the dust…

Friends, this has been the toughest past two days. I quit smoking cold turkey back in April, I quit drinking in July and I can honestly tell you that kicking the caffeine habit has been the most physically painful. My head throbs. My back and legs ache. It’s horrible. So, I apologize for not posting last night, but it’s been killer.

Due to my temporarily adopted eating habits, breakfast has changed:

This Ezekiel cereal is awesome. And, you can heat it up if you want. I’ve been eating it cold because it’s quicker and gives me more time in the morning.

Friday at work was hellish because of my head. I, who NEVER uses medicine unless I absolutely HAVE to, took Advil. It was awful. Today was a little better, but only because the pain has moved to my lower half. It really makes me think twice about drinking coffee in the mornings now. I think a cup here and there for a special treat is ok but I do not want to be reliant on it again. I am now a master of kicking addictions! Sweet.

Lunch today and dinner yesterday was one and the same:

My first vegan recipe!!

Vegan collard wraps – serves four

Dunk 1 bunch of collard greens in boiling water until they are bright green. Mix together 1/2 cup cooked quinoa, 1/2 cup cooked  brown rice, 1 can of diced tomatoes (reserve the juice to thin it out), half a can of garbanzos and a quarter of a block of firm tofu. Mix in a dash of cayenne, a dash of cumin, and a dash of salt and pepper. Fill the collard greens burrito-style with the quinoa/rice mixture, place seam-side down in a baking dish, pour the remaining tomato juice on top and bake in a 350 oven for 20 minutes. Delish.

I made some for the husband with chicken and cheese. Honestly, he said it was lacking the adobo-chile taste from the last rolls. I agree, but it was simple and tasty.

Today was spent doing massive cleaning, grocery shopping and laundry-doing while the husband picked up extra work. Something tells me I might get a present…but I could be wrong 🙂

Dinner was amazing and will be repeated for lunch tomorrow. I’ll share with you then 😉 Agenda for the rest of the night? Catch up on the rest of my new Oxygen magazine, finish season 2 of Gossip Girl and start Catching Fire. Final verdict on Hunger Games? SO. GOOD. I would never let my teenager read it (it’s along the lines of Twilight in targeted age group) due to violence and premise, but I’m definitely going to finish the series.

Hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend! Have a great night!

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Breakfast, Lunch, Recipes

4 responses to “Another one bites the dust…

  1. wow, congrats on kicking those vices!! i can imagine it would be tough quitting caffeine, i was doing a (minor) detox a few months ago and cutting down on coffee was one of the goals. yeah….i know about the headaches. not fun 😛

    hope you had a great weekend!

  2. Wow. That sounds like some pretty intense reactions to going without caffeine. Sorry you’re dealing with those. But you obviously have it under control.

  3. Kat

    Congrats on going cold turkey!! I have no experience with either, so I cant imagine how hard it was! however if someone tried to take away my coffee I would probably kill them! 😉

Leave a Reply

