Back in action…sort of…

Hey friends, I’m back! Wow, this weekend has been pretty awesome, minus the fact that I felt crappy, all the way up until this morning. But, let’s not dwell on the negative, shall we? There was a new yoga outfit purchased for me and loads of veggies were eaten. This does not sound thrilling to a normal person. I am not a normal person.

Today, I woke up sick, so I stayed home in my jammers and caught Regis and Kelly while eating this:

This is the Incan Porridge from Tosca Reno’s Eat-Clean Diet. It is so good, it’s got quinoa, oats, dates and some spices; I recommend the cookbook, but I will say, it’s really hit or really miss. Use Caution!!

Then, I proceeded to hole up in bed and finish Catching Fire, the second book in the Hunger Games series. READ IT! It’s so good. If you’re okay with…post-apocolyptic-gladiator-arena-type things, which I totally wasn’t until I read these books and now I am (wait, that’s a lie too, I loved the movie The Book of Eli, rent it immediately). I did break for lunch. The husband brought me this:

Tofu, sprout, tomato and green onion salad. I tossed it with some spinach and drizzled it with balsamic and olive oil with a dash of garlic powder. It was incredible. I am embracing my veganism during this period and it’s been pretty tasty. I will say that I can’t wait to indulge in cheese, gelato, cheesecake, chocolates etc. once this time period is up, but until then, I’m enjoying the simplicity of it. We split this guy for dessert:

This may be my new favorite flavor. It’s a toss-up with the coconut bar. So good. I then cracked into Season 3 of Gossip Girl (Lord help me, I’m addicted. I love how evil Chuck Bass is. I wish there was an appropriate venue for me to wear an ascot and suspenders and speak all breathy and evil. There isn’t.). After thoroughly trashing my brain, I made us snacks:

Simple and delicious – brown rice cake with pb and 1/2 a naner with some cinnamon on top. It held me over while we picked up our CSA. No pics today. The usual haul of tangerines, salad mix, arugula, kale, radishes and taro. I’m not loving the taro. In fact, I threw away last week’s. I know! I probably should have attempted to eat it, but I just can’t. Poi has really broken my will to cook with it.

Dinner was spent eating this:

and watching Letters to Juliet. It was cute, if you like that sort of thing. I do 😉 That’s Puy lentils with rainbow chard (again, Tosca cookbook. GET IT!!) with brown rice. I also munched a date. After going five days with no added sweeteners at all, dates taste like candy! It was so sugary and delicious.

Agenda now? Finish reading my Cooking Light (which has a tasty prosciutto, pear, blue cheese sammy that will need to be recreated 🙂 ), catch Hawaii Five-0 (my husband the fact checker pointed out this mistake. It’s not 5-0, it’s actually spelled out. Good lookin’ out, beautiful man.), and then snuggle up to my family and try to keep from jumping in the car and driving to Target to get the 3rd book in the series :D. Tomorrow, we have (meaning, I will attempt) an at-home workout during Biggest Loser that I will post. And Wednesday will be the 2nd weigh-in for our Fat Loss Challenge! See you tomorrow; have a great night!

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, TV shows

4 responses to “Back in action…sort of…

  1. I really enjoy the Clean Eat cookbooks. Every recipe I’ve tried has been easy and tasted great. I’m sister and I were just talking about that book, The Hunger Games. She loved it too! Hope you’re feeling better today 🙂

  2. haha….GG is definitely a guilty pleasure of mine. (although the first 2 seasons had better writing, did they not?) hope you’re feeling better over there!

  3. Kat

    Hope you are feeling better! I wanted to see Letters to Juliet. We have a redbox right down the street…so maybe I will go pick it up 🙂 Good luck with your at-home workout!! I usually do jumping jacks, high knees, butt kicks, pushups and crunches during commercials 🙂

Leave a Reply

