Iron maiden…

Hey guys! I flaked out yesterday! My family got some really great news the I can’t bust out now, but I will definitely be sharing with you in the upcoming months if it comes to fruition. I’ll tell you, God is good and I know whatever happens is planned for me 🙂

Breakfast today was something new! The camera is being a pain and won’t download my picture, but I made some homemade granola – oats, coconut, cinnamon, canola oil, dried fruit and smashed almonds. I ate it like cereal with some soy milk. It was pretty delicious and I’m gonna experiment with the flavors more before I share the actual recipe.

Today was the first weigh-in! I was feeling so confident, so ready to dominate…and then I weighed in. Um, I lost 4.5 lbs and 0% body fat. ZERO. I knew, though. I slacked off on working out. Mama didn’t raise no fool, I know what I did wrong. So, today I made it in to the gym. I pumped some iron. I did chest, triceps and shoulders with some abs in there for good measure. And this lady cranked it out. I figured, oh well if my eating is a little restricted right now, I can fuel with silken tofu and today, post-workout, I fueled up this way:

Leftover Puy lentils with brown rice. It was pretty filling. While I miss my protein powder and meat (oh meat, how I miss you. Flaky salmon, juicy tender steak, flavorful chicken breast, crispy bacon, ohhhh beloved Portuguese sausage!!!), I’m finding that I can feel full with vegan protein sources. And I’ll just have to keep looking for the best way to feed my muscles.

For now, I’m reading my special edition Off The Couch magazine and I’m about to snack on one of these:

Brown rice cake, half a naner, natural peanut butter and cinnamon. Then, it’s off to bed to recharge my soul with my devotions and my body with some sleep…there may be some reading of the 3rd book in the Hunger Games trilogy 😉

Tomorrow, it’s a toss-up. I may take my first spin class ever (yikes!) or I may come home and do Turbo Jam in my jammies. I’m getting the feeling that Turbo Jam is going to win out. I’m kind of holding off on the spin. I’m taking my first ever yoga class this weekend and I can only handle so much out of my comfort zone before it goes from fun to terrifying.

So…if you feel the need to help a sister out…anybody have good vegan protein sources/recipes you can share? I’ll be looking for some tomorrow after my work out. Hope everyone’s day has gone well. Have a great night and I’ll see you tomorrow!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Iron maiden…

  1. Congratulations on the good news! How do you like the turbo jam videos? Are they pretty hard?

    • Thanks, hopefully I’ll be able to share it soon! I love Turbo Jam! It’s hard if you put the effort in, but it’s also easy to make low impact too. I just really like Chalene Johnson; I’m thinking of getting Turbo Fire.

  2. Kat

    I love how you REALIZE why you lost no body fat. I love that you didnt blame anything, you just accepted it. THAT IS HUGE!!! But, you did lose some pounds, which is always a good thing. We cant do it perfectly every time, but we do get to learn from each experience. Good luck on this next week!

    • Yeah, I figured I could mess with the formula, but despite others’ abilities to get toned and muscular with just yoga and stress maintenance doesn’t work for me 🙂 I have to punish my muscles!

  3. Lee

    What is the great news? I am your mother so I should know this stuff:)

Leave a Reply

