Something old, something new…

Hey friends! Miss me much? I just enjoyed day 1 of my 5-day staycation and I’m loving it. Wouldn’t it be nice to be a stay-at-home wife? 🙂

After reading The Hunger Diaries and the subsequent fallout, I fear posting my breakfast 😦 But, it was the usual oaties:

Well, almost the usual. Due to my restricted-ness, there was no protein powder. This had peanut butter, bananas, coconut and cinnamon. It tasted different, I’m not gonna lie, but I’m thinking a touch of vanilla extract will fix that.

Because it’s Saturday, we headed to the bank to grab quarters for laundry (yep, there’s a coin-op outside my house. I hate it). We had to drive out to Pearl City, which means I got to run across the street to my favorite vegetarian store, Down to Earth. We grabbed some hot bar to munch at home, but they had a lot less vegan stuff than they did last time and what they did have contained sugar. So…I had to roll with a salad:

Which happened to be the most ridiculously awesome salad ever. The greens were so fresh and light yet crunchy.  I threw on some garbanzo beans, tomatoes, sprouts, red cabbage, shredded carrots, onions, broccoli and a little tabouli (taboulleh?) salad in the mix. I dressed the whole dang thing with some balsamic and olive oil and some salt and pepper. It was so good. I love fresh salad.

The husband pulled some extra hours today, so I dropped him off and came home to catch up on some blog reading. As I shared with you before, I’m throwing some weights back in the mix. I had to resurrect an oldie but goodie yesterday:

I know, I know. I’m a slave to marketing. But this thing kills me every time! Kim Lyons (who I absolutely freakin’ love) busts out in the 2nd portion and kills my arms. And abs. And legs. So, to counter that (with a little inspiration from Averie <–I do not know why that hyperlink isn’t turning pink. It’s supposed to be pink. It also ruined that text right there, sorry –>), I signed up for 2 weeks of yoga! I went to my very first class today and fell in love 🙂 Not to mention that I may have been wearing new yoga clothes that my sweetie got me:

The studio was open and breezy with the tradewinds blowing through the windows. There was only three of us in Yoga Basics (I do videos, but I wanted a foundation to work off of) and it was so personal and the teacher was great. She even gave us the option to skip out on the chanting (I love Jesus and I’m not comfortable chanting in Sanskrit. To each their own, right? I read an article on Yahoo about how yoga is un-Christian…what?!? Nonsense. Use common sense and bow out of what you aren’t comfortable with. For me, it’s chanting and focusing on good/bad energy) and I was challenged but happy! I’ll be going back often 😀

I had to pick up the husband right after and we hit up my favorite salad place (can you tell I need to grocery shop?) and I grabbed a Mediterranean, sans feta with balsamic and olive oil and had a rice cake to get some carbs in there. Now, we’re back at the casa and about to indulge in a Chuck Bass (er, Gossip Girl) marathon. I’m also going to pick up some pumpkin and pecans tonight so that I can enjoy some fall flavors even though I’m stuck in Hawaii 😉 Also on the agenda, a nice jog tomorrow. I’m going to avoid running at noon, so that I don’t almost die again. Have a good night and see you tomorrow!

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Lunch, TV shows, Workouts

4 responses to “Something old, something new…

  1. hey did i tell you Chuck Bass was in Sydney just a little while ago? (well, a couple months.) he was just a few blocks from my place too, but for some reason, i never know about these things till AFTER they happen. (sigh…)

    • I know, there’s always some star vacationing here on Oahu and I always miss them!

      I only find “Chuck Bass” attractive. Ed Westwick in real life is not as attractive to me. Weird, huh?

  2. Lee

    I see you like peanut butter on your breakfast. For a change of pace have your tried the Maranatha almond butter?

Leave a Reply

