Staycation…

Hey friends! What a relaxing day. I didn’t do a dang thing and I’m so happy about it 🙂 I’m more of a gotta-clean-gotta-run-gotta-grocery-shop kind of person, so putting my craziness to the side and really enjoying today felt good.

Breakfast was a new concoction, inspired by the blogosphere’s pumpkin explosion:

Pumpkin pie oaties! Simple, too. I made 2 servings of oaties, put protein powder in my husband’s, put 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin into each one, a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg, a scoop of peanut butter and a sprinkle of pecans. It was good. It needs something sweet (we’re thinking sucanat) but I can’t have that right now, so just keep it like it is.

I then proceeded to scan some blogs and then laid in bed for maybe 2 hours finishing the last book in the Hunger Games trilogy. It didn’t end the way I wanted it to, but I didn’t write it so who am I to judge 😉 Then, I had to fuel up, I was starving. The husband and I hit the road in the pursuit of hot bar food, new bras (for me, not him) and a birthday present for our friend’s kid. This was demolished at the hot bar:

Curried cauliflower, curried cabbage with potatoes and peas, garlic broccoli with scallion hummus, artichoke hearts, some dolmas and Moroccan couscous. It was phenomenal. I love the hot bar, though, so I didn’t expect less than perfection. After that, we cruised around Diamondhead and took in my favorite lookout point (I always think of them as miradors, because that’s what we call them in Portugal).

It was kind of cloudy, hence the gray gloominess, but still beautiful. We headed over to Nordstrom, where a very sweet girl made bra fitting as comfortable as can be expected. I scored two Calvin Klein bras that were 25% off and also found that despite losing 20 lbs, my boobs stayed the same size! SCORE!

We then hit up Barnes and Noble for gifts; I do not give money. I just don’t, that’s not a personal gift. I give books 🙂 I love them and so should everyone else. Speaking of loving books, I may have gotten In Defense of Food…my love was feeling generous today. We spent so much time at the mall, we had to zoom over to the party. It was pretty standard – LOTS of food (Filipino food that I wanted to eat, but couldn’t. Remember my love for pancit? Yep, there was mountains of it.), karaoke and tons of kids. Get togethers here revolve around food. That’s the first time where I felt almost guilty about my food choices. When you say no, no matter how friendly, it seems to hurt your host. We had to escape the (delicious looking) food and get some healthy fare.

This salad will be in my dreams tonight – mixed greens, tomatoes, beets, carrots, mushrooms, black olives, red cabbage, kidney beans, red onions and artichoke hearts. I even grabbed some grilled squash and some cold grains. My husband mentioned that while the food at the party would have knocked him on his butt, this meal made him feel better and I have to agree.

Since I’ve eliminated meat, dairy, added sugar, leavening agents and caffeine, I’ve been performing better, I don’t get afternoon slumps, my skin is beautiful and I feel like I may even be sleeping better. Once I’m back to my normal eating, I’m not sure what to keep and what to change 😦 I’m knocking out caffeine in the mornings anymore. I’ll treat myself here and there, but no more dependency. I’d like to cut down my meat consumption and find plant-based alternatives more. I didn’t even REALIZE how much SUGAR is EVERYWHERE. Yes, I’m shouting. It’s in canned foods, sauces, dressings, everywhere. I’d like to continue to avoid it. And, although I love cheese and ice cream, I’m going to continue to avoid a lot of dairy. These are just things that I think are not worth the effect on my body. We’ll see, but even my husband agrees that the healthier food makes him more energetic (which I’m not complaining about 😉 ).

Now? Snack time and then we’re hitting the movies. I’ve been really wanting to see Life As We Know It. Hope you guys are having a great weekend! See you tomorrow, as the vacation continues. Good night!

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Breakfast, Dinner, Hawaii, Lunch

3 responses to “Staycation…

  1. Sugar really is EVERYWHERE. I think thats probably the hardest thing, for me anyways, to be mindful of in my food.

    I love days of just fun.

    • It’s so crazy! I think the hardest for me was reading every label. If it’s not high fructose corn syrup, it’s evaporated cane juice, honey, agave, sugar…I need a degree in chemistry to figure out some of the other additives. Yikes! How have I not sprouted extra limbs already?!?

  2. oh yes, i concur. i did a sugar detox a few months ago and basically lived off oatmeal, edamame, veggies, and fruit (i was allowed natural sugar, and being a sugar addict, boy did i eat A LOT.) it’s crazy, they say the most savory things have the most sugar in them. no wonder we’re so hooked!

Leave a Reply

