Back to basics…

Hey guys! Wow, it’s been a long time since I sat down and wrote a little somethin’ somethin’. To be honest, I really just enjoyed my vacation with no obligations, even to my hobby that I enjoy so much (that would be this blog 🙂 ). Monday was spent alone; the husband couldn’t get the day off. I went to the beach early in the morning and did a 2-mile run and then came home and did laundry and watched Gossip Girl all day. I topped it off with nighttime yoga at the new studio I’ve been going to. I learned that I’m a lot better than I thought I was. I mastered the Wild Thing pose right outta the gate 😀

Tuesday, the husband got me up early to watch Regis and Kelly (Did I ever mention that I freakin’ love Kelly Ripa? She’s so funny and I love that she’s been married to the same guy since the beginning of time) and then we vegged out and watched Gossip Girl all day. Seeing a trend? I also ate this:

I affectionately refer to these as Mexican Monsters. They’re so simple and I love how I can just make them up really quick. It’s brown rice, half a can of beans (I use pinto or black; tonight I used kidney), half a can of diced tomatoes, a little chopped cilantro and half an avocado. I also mix in cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and salt – I eyeball all of it, as I know what I like.

Wednesday, we actually did things. We may have blown half the morning watching Gossip Girl, but then we headed out to the beach (coated in SPF 80. I don’t just burn,  I sizzle) for an hour to take in some beautiful Hawaiian sun. I have an internal clock that immediately informs me of right when I’m about to burn despite repeatedly coating myself in sunscreen. We left to go to Whole Foods to pick up hot bar (2.00 off on Wednesdays, woo hoo!):

Delicious! Same thing as always – salad with everything on top, grains and roasted veggies. Then, we changed into our running gear and put in 2 miles on the track. We came home and ate this dinner:

Again, quickness is key because we were hurrying out the door for church. This was a bunch of kale that I sautéed in olive oil with a minced garlic clove, brown rice and (surprise) beans that I seasoned with salt, pepper and paprika with a smashed garlic clove mixed in. You’d think that I’d have an issue with…um…the toots, but I really don’t. I drink copious amounts of water and eat so much fiber, I must have adapted. Sorry for saying the toots. I just thought I’d share.

Church was awesome! Last week, we skipped because the sermon was on politics. One of our pastors used to be a judge and the church is pretty into taking charge and voting. I, however, don’t vote. Really, I just don’t. I don’t have any deeply rooted issues on why I don’t and I know that many women have burned bras and not shaved their hairy legs for my right to turn in a ballot, but I don’t. So, we skipped that informational gem. This Wednesday, however, was really good. I got my midweek recharge.

Today was the usual, right down to oaties for breakfast. Never fear, friends, I got a little something new for you guys tomorrow. I did get in a nice sweaty workout today.

  • Lunge & Lifts with dumbbells
  • Donkey Kick Machine (I don’t know what this one is called. It’s like doing donkey kicks.)
  • Adductor and Abductor machine
  • 1.8 mile run
  • little break because my love monkey picked me up to take me home
  • Stability ball hamstring curls
  • Stability ball calf raises
  • Stability ball crunches

I am now sitting in my disgusting clothes talking to you guys, but I’m about to shower my stinky self, do my devotions, read a little of my new book I got at the library (I’m thinking it sucks, but I have to finish it before I pass my final verdict) and then off to dreamland for me. I’ve got to kick Friday’s butt and stay up late to Skype my mama. Hope you guys have had an awesome week! Have a great night!

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Dinner, Lunch, Recipes, TV shows, Uncategorized, Workouts

2 responses to “Back to basics…

  1. Kat

    Mmmm all your food looks delish and very mexican foodish lol Mexican food is one of my favorites, I could eat it everyday!! Theres just something about the flavors….
    Love all teh Gossip Girl watching!! I used to love that show, but I watch so many others now, its kind of gotten lost on tivo lol

  2. I should eat more food like THAT, as opposed to fried taquitos and mom’s home baked cookies!

Leave a Reply

