Last day of last year…

Hey guys! I was gonna grace you with a nifty post about my goals and aspirations for this upcoming year…and then saved that draft and decided to go with my last day of last year and a little of this year 🙂 I’ll regale you with my big ideas for 2011 tomorrow.

I knew yesterday was going to be good when I said “Breakfast?” and Ben said “Original Pancake House?”. I don’t know if it’s the sixties decor or just the bangin’ macadamia nut pancakes smothered in real(!) butter and coconut syrup, but I love that place. Like, really love it. I love being healthy and eating food that’s good fuel for my body, but I also sometimes like to eat things that just really make my mouth happy. Those mac nut pancakes make my taste buds do happy dances. I did have to temper all that carby goodness with a cruise around Diamondhead. The love of my life suggested a little walk and I had to take him up on it.

All along the sidewalk are trees and bushes with ornaments and lights. How cute is that Christmas hibiscus (rhymey…kinda).

We started up there, saw this thing:

Passed this awesome surfer dude:

Made it all the way down to here:

And walked all the way down, barefoot and hand-in-hand. I love my life 🙂 Not all the time, I assure you. But, days like yesterday? So great. We drove over and grabbed a fresh juice and drove up to the top of a nearby mountain to take in the sights:

And then hurried home to get changed and go to my favorite place to eat in the world ever of all time! I go to Haleiwa Joe’s mainly for babycakes, but the food there is great too 🙂 We started with cocktails (I’ve noticed the blog is sorely lacking in the “martini” portion of it’s name but I sorely lack “good judgement” when it comes to how many cocktails is too many, so take it where you can get it 😀 ):

That baby’s a Flat Island Iced Tea – coconut vodka, pineapple rum and island-y juices. Perfect, only complemented with some kimchi edamame:

It was not real kimchi edamame. It was more like “chili sauce edamame”. I know because I’m a kimchi aficionado. I love it regardless of the fact that it does not love me back. I rolled with a new (to me) entrée:

Furikake-crusted baked opa in a…???…delicious sauce (beurre blanc?) with kimchi-style veggies on top (spot on here) over a bed of rice. I wept with joy. Not really, but I almost did. It was that good. But not as good as:

This. Oh, baby. The waiter suggested we cover our babycake in hot fudge instead of raspberry sauce. Garcon? This was so good. Babycakes can help obtain world peace, I’m sure. It’s that good. It made me forget for one moment that I was going home to the land of illegal aerials:

Why must you shoot off aerials over our neighborhood? And make my dog crazy? And ruin my ability to watch a Criminal Minds marathon without subtitles? Yes, my dear sweet kind angelic husband took me home and let me watch hours of Criminal Minds. We smooched at midnight and called it a night. Ben-Shayna-Roberta Jean snugglefest ensued (in the editing read-through, I decided I should mention to those new to this blog that Roberta is my dog. Carry on.).

Today, we just took it easy -eating all the leftovers, running 2.5 miles, eating Puka Dog, watching Easy A (cute, better than I thought it was going to be, but maybe a little insulting? Christian does not = crazy 🙂 I promise), eating this:

which isn’t too bad, if you don’t mind nori and MSG. Now, if you’ll excuse moi, I’m off to continue reading The Great Fitness experiment (love this so far) and sleep off my run.

Two things of note: I’ve had the great pleasure of following a new (to me) healthy Hawaii blogger – go check out Candace’s blog! She makes me appreciate where I live thanks to fresh eyes and the ability to make cheap almond butter in a food processor (why oh why did I never think of this? I thought I was doomed due to the fact that I do not own a Vita-mix (sacrilege, I know!).

Also, has anyone seen the hot-mess-of-a-show Bridalplasty??? Which is exactly what the title expresses? This show pits a bunch of brides-to-be against each other, reality show-style, in order to earn plastic surgery procedures from their “wish lists”…?!? When a girls gets kicked off the show, the host says, “You’ll still have a wedding…it just won’t be perfect.” I have no words for how deeply deeply sorry I am for these girls. Or how deeply deeply sorry I am that I watch two straight hours of it. I’m feeling a little veklempt, discuss amongst yourselves.

Good night!

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner, Hawaii Food Alert, TV shows

One response to “Last day of last year…

  1. Thank you for the complement & all the great things to do that you recommended! I’ve been contemplating doing the Great Aloha Run as well – good luck on your training & Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

