Times are a-changin’…

Life is now a whirlwind! I worked so hard in Hawaii and achieved some semblance of sanity. I woke up at 5:00am, cooked breakfast, packed our meals and snacks, got ready for work and was out the door by 6:15am to make the (4 mile) drive to work. My snacks were timed every 3 hours throughout the day. I got home at 5:00pm, cooked dinner for us, did dishes, got changed into my gym clothes and hit the gym with my hubby. When we got back, I’d blend us some smoothies, do some laundry and take a shower. If I had a minute, I’d read a little or catch a show before heading to sleep. It was a fine-tuned machine that went CRAZY if disrupted. But…it worked 🙂

Now? Things are out of control. HA! That’s a mild description. I CANNOT sleep here. I also no longer work, so my day is not structured and I’m aimless. My husband works long hours and it’s hard to plan when he’s going to get off from work. I try to wait to have dinner with him, but I pick him up and he’s famished. When he asks for fast food, I’m tired and I know he’s hungry, so I just give in. I know, I know, what problems this girl has, right? I’m not ungrateful. I’m so beyond blessed…I just need to rein everything in! This control freak needs to get life back in order.

So, what can you expect now from the blog? Well, just read the title!! We’re getting back to food, workouts and drinks. HOWEVER, sleep is number one. I have to get back on track in order to start my day right. This will be the first goal I’m tackling. I like to start my day with my sweetie – cooking breakfast, drinking coffee, stress-free pre-work chats and lunch/snacks packed for him. I also like to do a devotion or watch a sermon from my old church before beginning my day.

Does anyone have any sleep tips for me? I’m game! I don’t want drugs, but I’m down for tips – hot baths, melatonin, no tv, whatever will work!

***I’m bringing in a few weekly features! Here’s a sneak peek at two of them 🙂

  • We’re going to celebrate Aloha Friday every week with a happy hour cocktail recipe and pupu recipe to go with. Pop in on Friday and join the party.
  • Weekly treats! I don’t want to feel deprived while I get my weight and healthy eating back and I’m never opposed to treats 🙂 I just like knowing what goes in them. So, in the beginning of the week, I’ll put together a tasty treat to nosh on throughout the week.

Have a great night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

