Treat of the Week: Maple Stout Quickbread

Hi guys! Late post tonight…sorry about that 🙂 I was halfway through baking my treat when I opened my brand new sour cream and there was mold in it. I had to go all the way to the store to grab more!

Today was another day of vegging. I got to lay like vegetables with my guy and my pup and watch Pretty Woman. I promise, I actually do things, but you don’t want to hear about me doing dishes and cleaning my kitchen, do you? Boring.

Foodwise, we’ve been sticking tightly to our budget, utilizing leftovers and getting creative with all of the stuff jammed in our freezer:

Herbed Chicken with Feta Mint sauce, roasted asparagus and quinoa. When it comes to veggies, I think simple is the way to go. I LOVE roasted veggies and I get them in the oven while I’m cooking the meat and grains. I just set my oven to 425 degrees, prep the veggies and drizzle them with olive oil, kosher salt and pepper. Pop ’em in for about 10 minutes, mixing halfway through.

Our treat of the week was the Maple Stout Quickbread from the current Cooking Light magazine:

Love my drizzling technique? Ha! We can’t all be good at everything 🙂 It is phenomenal. Just really really tasty. It was easy to make and, although it sunk in the middle, the actual flavor wasn’t affected. We may have had 2 slices apiece 😉

We enjoyed ours with a hot cup of Zen green tea and an episode of Breaking Amish. Have you seen this? I’m sucked in. It’s pretty strange to see people tripping over things I take for granted every day, like a microwave. I never think about how many conveniences I have, but I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t nuke…everything.

What’s your favorite sweet treat for fall? I love anything pumpkin, but, after reading this month’s issue of Cooking Light, I’m enjoying the sweet quickbreads with fall flair, like maple and cranberry.

Have a wonderful night and see you tomorrow 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

